Maharashtra Elections

Parliamentary Constituencies 48
Assembly Constituencies 288
Ruling Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Opposition Party Nationalist Congress Party
Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis
Governor C Vidyasagar Rao
Chief Electoral Officer Shri. Jageshwar S . Saharia
Address Room No. 624, 6th Floor Mantralaya, Mumbai-400032


Maharashtra has a parliamentary system of government with two democratically elected houses, the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council. The Maharashtra Legislative Assembly consists of 288 members who are elected for five-year terms. The Maharashtra Legislative Council is a permanent body of 78 members. The government of Maharashtra is headed by the Chief Minister, who is chosen by the ruling party members of the Legislative Assembly. The Chief Minister, along with the council of ministers, drives the legislative agenda and exercises most of the executive powers. However, the constitutional and formal head of the state is the Governor, who is appointed for a five-year term by the President of India on the advice of the Union government.