AIFB (All India Forward Bloc)
Abbreviation AIFB
Leader N. Velappan Nair
Founder Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose
Founded 22 June 1939
Headquarters Netaji Bhavan’, T-2235/2, Ashok Nagar,Faiz Road, Karol Bagh,New Delhi, 110005
Election Symbol AIFB
Ideology Left-wing nationalism
Democratic socialism
Political Position Left-wing
ECI Status State Party
Alliance Left Front
Official Website
Contact Numbers 011-23714131,011-23712273
Email id [email protected]

The Forward Bloc of the Indian National Congress was formed on 22 June 1939 by Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, who had resigned from the presidency of the Indian National Congress on 29 April after being outmaneuvered by Mohandas K. Gandhi. The formation of the Forward Bloc was announced to the public at a rally in Calcutta. Bose said that who all were joining, they had to never turn their back to the British and must fill the pledge form by cutting their finger and signing it with their blood.

First of all, seventeen young girls came up and signed the pledge form. Initially the aim of the Forward Bloc was to rally all the leftwing sections within the Congress and develop an alternative leadership inside the Congress. Bose became the president of the Forward Bloc and S.S. Cavesheer its vice-president.

A Forward Bloc Conference was held in Bombay in the end of June. At that conference the constitution and programme of the Forward Bloc were approved. In July 1939 Subhas Chandra Bose announced the Committee of the Forward Bloc. It had Subhas Chandra Bose as president, S.S. Cavesheer from Punjab as its vice-president, Lal Shankarlal from Delhi, as its general secretary and Pandit B Tripathi and Khurshed Nariman from Bombay as secretaries. Other prominent members were Annapurniah from Andhra Pradesh, Senapati Bapat, Hari Vishnu Kamnath from Bombay, Pasumpon U. Muthuramalingam Thevar from Tamil Nadu and Sheel Bhadra Yajee from Bihar. Satya Ranjan Bakshi, was appointed as the secretary of the Bengal Provincial Forward Bloc.


AIFB Achievements

  • All India Forward Bloc has a number of mass organizations under its umbrella. Some of these are the youth wing of the AIFB called All India Youth League, the student’s wing called All India Student’s Bloc, the trade union organization called the Trade Union Coordination Committee, its peasant organization called All India Agragami Kisan Sabha, the women’s organization called All India Agragami Mahila Samiti and its tribal organization called Agragami Adivasi Samiti.
  • It has newly formed what is called “India- China Friendship Association.”
  • All India Forward Bloc initiated the fast implementation of the Manmohan- Haseena Agreement of 2011, which improved the relations between India and Bangladesh. A delegation of the party went to meet the Prime Minister of India, Manmohan Singh to express concerns over issues of water share, enclaves and adverse land between the two nations.
  • AIFB made significant contribution to uphold the cause of the Tamils in Sri Lanka during the period of crisis and genocide in Sri Lanka, over the issues of race and ethnicity.
  • AIFB, along with its organization, the All India Agragami Kisan Sabha, protested against the anti-peasants policies of the present Congress government. The AIFB organized strikes, rallies, conventions, picketing and dharnas against the increasing number of farmer suicides in the country and even against increasing oppressive policies of the government towards the peasants.