INLD (Indian National Lok Dal)
Abbreviation INLD
Leader Om Prakash Chautala
Founder Chaudhary Devi Lal
Founded 1996
Headquarters 18, Janpath, New Delhi, India-110011.
Student wing Pradeep Deswal
Official Website
Political position Centre
ECI Status State Party
Chairperson Om Prakash Chautala
Seats in Lok Sabha 2 / 545
Seats in Rajya Sabha 1 / 245
Election symbol INLD
Helpline  (011) 23782650
Lok Sabha leader Dushyant Chautala

The party renamed into its current name in 1998. The party was a member of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), and thus part of the Bharatiya Janata Party led government from 1998 to 2004 at the Federal level. INLD has performed poorly in all the four consecutive general elections held since 2000. It lost consecutive assembly elections for Haryana in 2005, 2009 and 2013. It failed to win any seats in Lok Sabha in 2004 and 2009 general elections, despite being in alliance with Bharatiya Janata Party in 2009.

In the Lok Sabha elections 1999, the INLD had an electoral alliance with BJP in Haryana. Each party contested five of the ten seats in the state. All ten were elected. In 2000, Chautala was elected as the Chief Minister of Haryana for the fifth time. In the 2000 state assembly elections, INLD won 47 out of the 90 seats. Later, INLD broke its alliance with the BJP and left the NDA and the government.


INLD Achievements

Under the able administration of Om Prakash Chautala, Haryana was the first state to introduce the VAT (Value Added Tax) which accelerated a steady fiscal growth. Chautala also opposed the so-called illegal allotment of land in Haryana by the Congress to Robert Vadra, Congress President Sonia Gandhi’s son-in-law. Chautala demanded a CBI investigation against Congress for the supposed corruption. Indian National Lok Dal has a number of frontal organizations and cells under its banner. The most important is its student organization called the Indian National Student Organization (INSO), which makes its present felt in all the youth protests held across the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan. The Women’s Cell of the Indian National Lok Dal, the Labour Cell of Indian National Lok Dal, the Minority Cell of Indian National Lok Dal, the Press Parvakta Cell of Indian National Lok Dal have carried out important work.