Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)
Abbreviation JMM
Leader Shibu Soren
Founder Shivajee Samaj
Founded 1972
Headquarters Bariatu Road, Ranchi, Jharkhand 834008
Student wing
Youth wing
Women’s wing
Labour wing
Ideology Regionalism
Political position Centre-right
ECI Status State Party
National convener
Seats in Lok Sabha 2 / 545
Seats in Rajya Sabha 1 / 245
Election symbol JMM
Helpline 09430180915
Email id [email protected]
Official Website http://www.jharkhandmuktimorcha.org/
Alliance NDA (up to 2013)

UPA (Only 2014)


Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)

Shri sibu Soren is the founder of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha as well as party president from 1991. He also served as Chief Minister of Jharkhand. He was also Minister for Coal and Mines in the Union Cabinet of Manmohan Singh in 2004. Presentaly he is Member of Parliament in 16th Lok Sabha from Dumka.

Life: sibu Soren was born on January 11, 1944, in Nemra village of Ramgarh district, in what was, at the time, Bihar. He completed his school level studies at the same district. While still studying, he lost his father. He started selling wood. He got married to Roopi Kisku. He has three sons Durga, Hemant and Basant and a daughter, Anjali.

Soren started his political journey in the early 1970s. Later, He led many political agitations for tribal people and fought for their rights. Soon he became a popular tribal leader of the region. People started following him. He played a major role in the creation of a separate Jharkhand state. He contested his first Lok Sabha election in 1977 but lost. He was elected to the Lok Sabha first time in 1980. He was elected for the second time for the Lok Sabha in 1989 and subsequently in 1991 and 1996. In 2002, he was elected to Rajya Sabha. He won the Dumka Lok Sabha seat in a by-election in 2002 and resigned Rajya Sabha seat. He was re – elected in 2004, 2009 and 2014 for Lok Sabha.

Jharkhand state was formed on 15 November 2000 after almost half a century of people’s movements to evolve a Jharkhandi identity, which disadvantaged societal groups articulated to augment political resources and influence the policy process in their favour. It is the 28th state of India.

At the 2005 Jharkhand state assembly elections, the JMM took second place and received 17 of the 81 seats. It supports the government of Independent Chief Minister Madhu Koda which was formed in 2006. It continues to be an active part of the United Progressive Alliance. It has had its fair share of controvoersies when its MPs were involved in the bribery scam during the Rao Government and a scandal in early 2005 about the Chief Minister of Jharkhand. Recently, one of its MPs was assassinated by Naxalites.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) Candidate List

*not available yet.