LJP (Lok Jan Shakti Party)
Abbreviation LJP
Leader Ram Vilas Paswan
Founder Ram Vilas Paswan
Founded 28 November 2000
Headquarters 12, Janpath, New Delhi, India
Student wing
Youth wing Yuva Lok Janshakti Party
Women’s wing
Labour wing Janshakti Mazdoor Sabha
Ideology Secularism,
Political position
ECI Status State Party
National convener
Seats in Lok Sabha 6 / 545
Seats in Rajya Sabha 0 / 245
Election symbol LJP
Helpline +(91) (011) 23015249, 23014050
Email id [email protected]
Official Website http://ljp.org.in/
Alliance National Democratic Alliance (2000—2003, 2014—present)
Newspaper  Nayay Chakra

LJP (Lok Jan Shakti Party) Candidate List Party Leaders

LJP (Lok Janshakti Party) state political party of Bihar state, India. It is led by Ram Vilas Paswan. The party was formed in 2000 when Paswan split from Janata Dal (United). The party has considerable following amongst Dalits in Bihar. Currently party is a member of the National Democratic Alliance.

In 2015 Bihar legislative assembly election the party contested in an alliance with BJP-led NDA. It contested 40 seats out of 243 in the assembly. It won only two seats, one less than the last election in 2010.

The party contested the 2009 Lok Sabha General elections in an alliance called fourth front which constituted of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and the Samajwadi Party (SP). This move proved to be disastrous, since LJP couldn’t win a single seat, and RJD were reduced to 4 seats in the Lok Sabha. After the election Laloo Prasad Yadav, admitted that it was a mistake to leave the UPA, and gave unconditional support to Manmohan Singh and the newly formed UPA government.

In 2004 Lok Sabha elections, LJP contested the polls in alliance with the Indian National Congress and the Rashtriya Janata Dal and won four Lok Sabha seats. In the United Progressive Alliance-led government formed after the poll, Paswan became the minister of Steel and Fertilizers.