MDMK (Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam)
Abbreviation MDMK
Leader Vaiko
Founder Vaiko
Founded May 6, 1994
Headquarters Thaayagam, Egmore, Chennai
Student wing
Youth wing
Women’s wing
Labour wing
Ideology Social Democracy
Political position Centre-Left
ECI Status State Party
National convener
Seats in Lok Sabha – / 545
Seats in Rajya Sabha – / 245
Election symbol MDMK
Email id
Official Website

MDMK Party Leaders Candidates List History

Vaiko was a member of Rajyasabha and a party activist of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam. Vaiko grew in the party from his student days and actively participated in the party agitations and courted imprisonment several times. He was elected thrice to the Rajya Sabha and attracted the attention of many in parliament.

In 1994, he was forced out of the parent body as he was seen as a threat to DMK chief Karunanidhi’s son M.K. Stalin. Vaiko along with some district secretaries announced the decision to start rival DMK ultimately leading to naming of the part as MDMK. Vaiko’s sympathy for Tamils in Sri Lanka on issues of their human rights issue and the historical genocide of Tamils.

Kerala government was keen in demolishing mullai periyar dam, this dam is the prime source for irrigation for more than 8 districts including Theni. With the looming possibility of a vote of confidence in Parliament against UPA, two party MPs, L Ganesan and Ginjee N Ramachandran, claimed that they enjoy the support of the majority of party cadre and decided to pledge support to the UPA government. They later withdrew their claim and joined DMK when it was found that they had forged letters of support of party executives.

Party flag and symbol the colour of the top and bottom panel is red and middle panel is black. The election symbol is top. The party has a weekly journal called Sangoli which carries news and write ups for party workers.