Muslim League Kerala State Committee (IMUL)
Abbreviation IMUL
Leader Lok Sabha: E. Ahmed, Rajya Sabha: P.V.Abdul Wahab
Founder Mohammed Koya
Founded 10 March 1948
Headquarters Maraikayar Lebbai Street, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India.
Student wing
Youth wing Muslim Youth League
Women’s wing Muslim Women League
Labour wing
Ideology To Represent Muslim community holding secular & democratic principles.
Political position
ECI Status State Party
National convener
Seats in Lok Sabha 2 / 545
Seats in Rajya Sabha 1 / 245
Election Symbol Muslim League Kerala State Committee
Helpline 0495-2365969
Email id [email protected]
Official Website
Alliance United Democratic Front
 Newspaper Times of League, Chandrika (newspaper), Manichudar

Muslim League Kerala State Committee Leaders Candidate List Party

The Indian Union Muslim League was formed in Madras on 10 March 1948. It had presence in the Parliament right from 1952 to present day. In Kerala, it has led the cabinet once under the late C. H. Mohammed Koya, who became the Chief Minister of Kerala in 1979. In alliance with Indian National Congress and other parties, Muslim League has been an active member of the United Democratic Front. In Kerala, under the leadership of Syed Abdurahiman Bafakhy Thangal, K. M. Seethi Sahib; Panakkad P. M. S. A. Pookoya Thangal and Syed Mohammed Ali Shihab Thangal, it grew to be a major political player. The party has had cabinet positions at various times in coalition governments in Kerala, holding portfolios like Education, Home, Industries, Public works, Local administration, Social welfare, Fisheries etc.

While the two political fronts, United Democratic Front and Left Democratic Front took shape ahead of the 1980 elections, two different sections of IUML landed up in opposite camps. A break-away faction, the All India Muslim League joined LDF and the Indian Union Muslim League joined UDF. The two groups reunited in 1985 under the name IUML and as member of UDF. In 1987 IUML left UDF for a period only to reunite later.

IUML in Kerala

Muslim League seats in Kerala assembly – 14 seats (1982), 15 (1987), 19 (1991), 13 (1996), 16 (2001), 7(2006), 20 (2011) Following are the LAST Ministers from IUML in Kerala P. K. Kunhalikutty (Industry, IT, wakf, hajj), Dr M. K. Muneer (social welfare, panchayat), V. K. Ebrahim Kunju (Public Works), P. K. Abdu Rabb (Education), Manjalamkuzhy Ali(Minority welfare Corporation, Municipality).