Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)
Abbreviation RJD
Leader Lalu Prasad Yadav
Founder Lalu Prasad Yadav
Founded 5 July 1997
Headquarters 13, V. P. House, Rafi Marg, New Delhi, India-110001
Student wing
Youth wing
Women’s wing
Labour wing
Ideology Secularism, Socialism, Populism
Political position Centre-left
ECI Status State Party
National convener Lalu Prasad Yadav
Seats in Lok Sabha 3 / 545
Seats in Rajya Sabha 3 / 245
Election symbol RJD
Helpline 011 – 23357182
Email id [email protected]
Official Website http://rjd.co.in/
Alliance United Progressive Alliance (2005-15)
Janata Parivar Alliance (2015 – present)

RJD (Rashtriya Janata Dal) Candidate List Party Leaders History

On 5 July 1997, Lalu Prasad Yadav, Raghuvansh Prasad Singh, Kanti Singh along with seventeen Lok Sabha MPs and eight Rajya Sabha MPs along with supporters gathered at New Delhi formed the new political party, Rashtriya Janata Dal. It was formed as breakaway of Janata Dal. Lalu Prasad was elected as the first president of Rashtriya Janata Dal.

Lalu Prasad Yadav was born in Phulwaria, Bihar. His father’s name is Kundan Rai and mother’s name Marachhiya Devi. He is the 2nd of his parent’s six sons. He attended a local middle school before moving to Patna with his elder brother. He studied Bachelor of Laws and a Master in Political Science from B. N. College, Patna University. After graduation, he got a job as clerk in Bihar Veterinary College, Patna where his elder brother also worked as a peon. He turned down Patna University’s Honorary Doctorate in 2004.

In Indian general election, 2009, the Rashtriya Janata Dal broke its alliance from UPA when seat sharing talks failed. RJD formed its alliance with Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party and Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party what the media has dubbed the “Fourth Front”. Rashtriya Janata Dal performed poorly and won just four seats, all of them in Bihar. However, in 2010 Assembly election, the RJD did not continue their alliance with Samajwadi Party.