Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF)
Abbreviation SDF
Leader Pawan Kumar Chamling
Founder Pawan Kumar Chamling
Founded 4 March 1993
Headquarters S.D.F Bhawan, Indira Byepass Gangtok, Sikkim
Student wing
Youth wing
Women’s wing
Labour wing
Ideology Democratic Socialism
Political position Centre-left to Left-wing
ECI Status State Party
National convener
Seats in Lok Sabha 1 / 545
Seats in Rajya Sabha 1 / 245
Election Symbol Sikkim Democratic Front
Helpline 03592-0281586/ 03592- 280595
Email id [email protected], [email protected]
Official Website
Alliance NEDA, NDA


Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) Leaders Party Candidate List

Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) was founded in 1993. It has ruled the Sikkim state since 1994 with Pawan Kumar Chamling as the chief minister. The party consolidated its position sweeping the 1999 and 2004 state elections. It won 31 of the 32 assembly seats in the 2004 election. In the 2009 assembly election, the party made a clean sweep, winning all 32 seats. It also retained the lone Lok Sabha seat. In 2014 assembly elections, SDF won 22 seats and retained power.

In May 2016, after the BJP led NDA formed its first government in Assam, a new alliance called the North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) was formed with BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma as its convener. The Chief Ministers of the north eastern states of Sikkim, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland too belong to this alliance. Thus, the Sikkim Democratic Front joined the NDA led NEDA.

SDF (Sikkim Democratic Front) Leaders

  • Pawan Kumar Chamling Founder-President of SDF
  • Prem Das Rai Leader in Lok Sabha
  • Hishey Lachungpa Leader in Rajya Sabha
  • D.D. Bhutia Vice President of SDF
  • K.B. Chamling Vice President of SDF
  • S.K. Pradhan General Secretary of SDF
  • Smt. Nimthit Lepcha General Secretary of SDF
  • D.B. Gurung General Secretary of SDF
  • T.N. Sharma General Secretary of SDF
  • Bhim Dahal National Spokesperson cum Press Advisor of SDF
  • Amar Rai Publicity Secretary of SDF
  • C.B. Karki Treasurer of SDF

Sikkim Democratic Front History

Pawan Chamling is the fifth and incumbent Indian chief minister of Sikkim. Pawan Chamling is the founder president of the Sikkim Democratic Front, which has governed the state for five successive terms since 1994. He is also the longest standing Chief Minister in India, having won the legislative assembly elections for 5 terms in a row and will be completing 25 years of governance by the next legislative elections in 2019 creating a political history in India.

Chamling was born in Yangang, South Sikkim to Ashbahadur Chamling and Asharani Chamling. Chamling is also a Nepali language writer and recipient of the Bhanu Puraskar (2010) awarded by Sikkim Sahitya Parishad. He writes under the pen name Pawan Chamling Kiran. Mr. Chamling has 8 children, 4 sons and 4 daughters. His party SDF won 22 out of 32 assembly seats in the 2014 legislative assembly election.

After 18 months of 2014 elections i.e. on November 30, 2015, 7 out of 10 opposition MLAs joined the SDF party under the leadership of Pawan Chamling. Now the ruling front has 28 out of 32 assembly seats in the state. Chamling is the second chief minister in India after Jyoti Basu, of West Bengal to govern a state five terms in a row, with his party Sikkim Democratic Front winning the 1994, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014 Sikkim Legislative Assembly elections.

His party first came to power in Sikkim after winning the 1994 assembly elections. His popularity kept soaring in Sikkim due to his developmental work and for maintaining peace. In 2009, his party Sikkim Democratic Front won all 32 assembly seats in Sikkim Legislative Assembly.