Arunachal Pradesh is one of the 29 states of India and holds the distinction of being the northeastern-most state of the country. Arunachal Pradesh borders the states of Assam and Nagaland to the south and shares international borders with Bhutan in the west, Myanmar in the east and is separated from China in the north by the disputed McMahon Line. Itanagar is the capital of the state.

A major part of the state is claimed by the Republic of China, and the People’s Republic of China as the region of South Tibet. The major part of the state which is claimed by China, was temporarily occupied by Chinese forces during the 1962 war.

Land of the Dawn-Lit Mountains is the sobriquet for the state in Sanskrit it is also known as the Orchid State of India or the Paradise of the Botanists. Geographically, it is the largest of the North-eastern states known as the Seven Sister States. As in other parts of Northeast India, the people native to the state trace their origins to the Tibeto-Burman people.

Parliamentary Constituencies 2
Assembly Constituencies 60
Ruling Party Indian National Congress
Opposition Party Nationalist Congress Party
Chief Minister Pema Khandu
Governor Brigadier BD Mishra (Retd)
Chief Electoral Officer Chandra Bhushan Kumar
Address Nirvachan Sadan Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh – 791111

Arunachal Pradesh Lok Sabha Election 2014

Arunachal Pradesh has only constituencies which were won by Indian National Congress (INC) and Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) each. Arunachal Pradesh was initially a Union Territory since 1975 and was made a complete state in 1987. Arunachal has 60 assembly and two parliamentary seats. The politics in Arunachal has the national parties as major participants in the elections. Political parties like Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), nationalist Congress Party (NCP) etc. are few of the active parties in Arunachal. Presently, Pema Khandu from INC is the Chief Minister of the state. Arunachal which contributes only two seats in the Lok Sabha has been an important state for the political parties. BJP with its mission 272+ focused on Arunachal as even two seats matter to achieve its mission. Congress also hoped for winning the in the state again. The elections for the two states took place on a single phase.

Arunachal Pradesh Major Political Parties

There are many political parties active in Arunachal Pradesh. The major ones are the Indian National Congress (INC), and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Indian National Congress: The Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee is the state unit of the Indian National Congress. Mukut Mithi is the President of the APCC, and also a member of the Rajya Sabha. Some of the other frontal heads of the party in Arunachal Pradesh are Yari Dulom, Taki Taba, Tadar Niglar, Padi Richo, Jalley Sonam, and Kirbe Dulom. There are many frontal organisations of the party in the state, such as the Arunachal Pradesh Mahila Congress Committee, the Arunachal Pradesh Congress Seva Dal, the Arunachal Pradesh Youth Congress, the INTUC (Arunachal Pradesh Unit), the NSUI State Unit (Arunachal Pradesh), the Arunachal Pradesh Rajiv Gandhi Panchayati Raj Sangathan, and the All India Rajeev Gandhi Vichar Manch International Arunachal Pradesh State Unit.

Bharatiya Janata Party: The Bharatiya Janata Party in Arunachal Pradesh is going great guns as some of the top state leaders of the Indian National Congress are joining the BJP. For instance, the former Chief Minister of the state, Geogang Apang, has resigned from the Congress and joined the BJP.

Arunachal Pradesh became a Union Territory in 1975 through the enactment of 37th Constitutional Amendment Act 1975, headed by a Lt. Governor. During 1975-1978, a 23-member provisional Legislative Assembly was formed. On 4 March 1978, a 33-member elected Legislative Assembly was constituted. On 20 February 1987, Arunachal Pradesh became a full state. The strength of State Legislative Assembly is currently 60.

Political Parties of Arunachal Pradesh

Congress BJP Nationalist Congress Party Trinamool Congress

Arunachal Pradesh Assembly Election Results

Party Seats
Bharatiya Janata Party 11
Indian National Congress 42
People’s Party of Arunachal 5
Independent 2
Total 60